South West Sydney Research is led by a Council made up of representatives from each of our member organisations and the community.

Our elected Chair is Professor Michael Barton. The Council is supported by a five member Executive, tasked with providing advice to the Council and progressing Council initiatives.

Council Representatives for 2018

Bankstown City Aged Care (BCAC)
Deborah Key CEO, BCAC
Michelle Doyle Deputy CEO, BCAC
Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research
Greg Kaplan COO, Ingham Institute
HammondCare (including Braeside Hospital)
Friedbert Kohler Medical Director, Braeside
Grainne O’Loughlin* CE, Karitane
Sheila Matete-Owiti A/Director, Clinical & Corp Governance
Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS)
Jorge Aroche CE, STARTTS
Helen Bibby Research Team Leader
South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD)
Amanda Larkin* CEO, SWSLHD
Bin Jalaludin Director, Epidemiology
South Western Sydney Primary Health Network (SWSPHN)
Keith McDonald CEO, SWSPHN
Amy Prince Director, Planning & Performance
New South Wales Health Pathology (NSWHP)
Heather Sharman Director of Operations, SWSPHN
Tharawal Aboriginal Corporation
Darryl Wright CE, Tharawal Aboriginal Corporation
Gandangara Local Aboriginal Land Council
Theresa Malone A/CEO, GLALC
Kevin Watene Health Services Manager, GLALC
University of New South Wales
Jeremy Wilson* Clinical Assoc Dean, SWS Clinical School
Michael Barton (Chair)* Cancer Research Theme Principal, Faculty of Medicine
University of Sydney
Kathryn Refshauge* Dean, Faculty Health Sciences
Joshua Burns Associate Dean, Research & Innovation
University of Wollongong
Alison Jones Executive Dean, Science, Medicine & Health
Anatoly Rozenfeld Director, Centre for Medical Radiation Physics
Western Sydney University
Annemarie Hennessy Dean, Medicine
James Kemp COO, Translational Health Research Institute (THRI)
Nolene Walker Community Rep
Khaled Al Sattouf Community Rep
South West Sydney Research – Non-voting
Stefanie Leung Hub Manager, South West Sydney Research


* These representatives also contribute to the South West Sydney Research Executive Committee.

Employed by or formally affiliated with one of our member organisations? You are eligible to register.

Governance South West Sydney Research